Teacher Teacher

I think everyone knows by now that I am in school for Elementary Education. Well, in order to actually teach in Florida (and any other state) you have to pass state certification exams. For us Floridians, these are called the FTCE (Florida Teacher Certification Exams) and there are three of them you must pass: General Knowledge Test (GKT), Professional Education Test (PET) and the Subject Area Exam (SAE) which consists of four sections covering K-6 Math, Language Arts, Science and Social Studies.

I took the GKT a few months ago and passed on my first try, which is good because these tests aren’t cheap! Since I am scheduled to start my internship in the Spring of 2017 I needed to pass the remaining two tests (PET and SAE) by October 15th. I put it off as long as I could and finally scheduled to take them back to back, yesterday (PET) and today (SAE). I studied for hours every day and when the time came to test I was a nervous wreck, but by the grace of God I passed them both! 🎉

This means that, technically, I am certified to teach Kindergarten – Sixth grade in Florida! Hellllls yes! I am so excited and relieved to be finished!

Now I just have to finish my last four courses that I am taking this Fall, then I will begin my teaching internship in January and hopefully get hired between March-April. Finally, I will graduate in May! 🎓

It is such an amazing feeling to know you are capable of whatever you put your mind to. I have never been “good” at school – I graduated high school with a 2.8 and a 3.0 with my Associates degree. I have never been a good test taker. I didn’t ever enjoy school, aside form socializing. Now, I am humbled to say I have a 4.0 and have made straight A’s in every single course I have taken at Florida Southern. I passed all of my exams on the first try. I made the Presidents Scholar List. I’m not saying this to brag on myself, but instead to remind you that YOU CAN DO HARD THINGS. If you want it bad enough, (or if your going into maj. student loan debt for it…) you can be successful.

A lot of prayers went into the past two days and I am so thankful to have such amazing family and friends to encourage me, support me and pay for my tests (looking at you, mama). NOW, time to exhale and smooth sail to December.

🍎📝📚📒✂️✏️

 

2 thoughts on “Teacher Teacher

Leave a Reply

