Just call me Ursula.

Every day with my first graders is an adventure. I am constantly in awe of them and the way their little minds work! My sister suggested writing down all the hilarity that comes out of their mouths, and I figured now is as good a time as any to start. So this post will be added to as I go along in my internship so that one day I can look back and remember all the silly shit they said and things that happened!

“Please don’t pass away” – Said to me at dismissal since I had been a little sick that day

“You pull on the little dangly things under their butt and milk squirts out” – In response to me asking how you get the milk out of a cow

“You seem like a real teacher now, not an intern!”

“Ms. Ursula!” – In the beginning when she couldn’t remember my name. “Ursaskin” was as good as we got.

“What do you need Ms. Erskine?” – Said with his chunky arm around me and face pressed up against mine.

A literal laughing fit from every one of them during read aloud. I truthfully don’t even know what was funny but they could. not. stop. laughing. Like, not just giggles. Legit belly laughs, plugging their nose when I told them to stop. But then that made me laugh. So we’re all just cracking up on the carpet and nobody even knows why. Best moment so far, hands down

Two days before spring break starts and I’m walking accross campus alone and one of my kids is walking back to class and he stops way ahead of me. When I finally get up to him I ask why he stopped, and he says “Because Ms. Erskine, I saw you walking and I didnt want you to walk alone!” With a huge smile. Then adds, “I hope you have the most wonderful spring break and I’ll see you back here on the 27th!” 😂 okay bud, but lets get through the rest of the week first.

Leave a Reply

