Room 606

Well, I have officially been Ms. Erskine for over two months now, and I can honestly say I feel incredibly blessed. I have learned more than I ever imagined possible. I have laughed, been frustrated, heart broken, ecstatic, cried, yelled, and most importantly, grown. Never in my life have I felt more confident in my ability to do something than I have with being a teacher. I wake up everyday and I know that no matter what is in store for me, it’s going to be a good day. I step into our classroom and I feel at home. I sit with my kids and I feel happiness. I teach them and I feel humbled. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I am doing what God created me to do, and that gives my heart more joy than I have ever known.

This new chapter of my life has been filled with some trying moments. I have students with stories that will bring you to your knees. Some who have already been through more in 6 years than I have in 24.  I have had days where I’ve been brought to tears from frustration, trying to pull it together in the bathroom. There have been times when I felt like I failed. Moments when my expectations were too low or I didn’t explain something well enough. Lessons that didn’t workout the way they should have and students who may have gotten yelled at worse than they deserved. Teaching is not easy. But let me tell you something… for every bad, sad, and down right terrible moment, there are a hundred more incredible ones. There are the moments when my students wrap me in a hug just because. When their eager faces can’t wait to tell me something that happened. When every hand shoots up to answer a question. The moment when the lightbulb goes off in their minds. The quiet times when they are all sucked into a good book, perfectly content. The “aw man” that echoes through the room when I have to leave. The test scores that are almost all 100% passing. The sheer excitement to learn. The happiness when they get a reward for outstanding behavior. The high fives when they do well on something. The giggles when we are all feeling a little silly. Hearing them tell me how funny I am. The good is far greater than the bad.

I have a little over a month left with them and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for us in room 606. One thing is for certain, it’s gonna be good.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

